Autodromo di Monza

13-14 May 2017


4 Hour de Monza

The Autodromo Nazionale Monza is one of the most famous race circuits in the world and is situated north of the Italian city of Milan. 

Built in 1922 it is one of the earliest purpose built race circuits still being used today, only Indianapolis is older.

Built in the Royal Villa of Monza park in a woodland setting, the 5.793-kilometre (3.6 mile) Grand Prix circuit is one of the fastest in the world and features corners such as Curva Grande, the Curva di Lesmo, the Variante Ascari and the Curva Parabolica.  Monza is part of motorsport’s rich history.

The European Le Mans Series returns to Monza for the first time since April 2008 when the Le Mans Series held the 1000km di Monza.

The 173 lap race was won overall by the LMP1 class Peugeot 908 driven by Pedro Lamy and Stephane Sarrazin, with the LMP2 honours going to the no31 Team Essex Porsche RS Spyder of Casper Elgaard and John Nielsen after completing 165 laps.  The LMGT2 (which is now LMGTE) win went to the Farnbacher Racing Porsche 997 GT3 RSR of Lars Erik Nielsen, Richard Westbrook and Allan Simonsen.